1993 - Berlin

Inaugural Meeting
Berlin, Germany, 19-20 February, 1993

Short Summary

The Berlin meeting at Künstlerhaus Bethanien has been attended by 28 representatives of 21 European and 2 American Arts Residencies. Also two representatives of the Council of Europe and of the Association Française d’Action Artistique (AFAA) respectively were present.

The introduction of the participating arts centers by their representatives and by means of selected slides on February 19, was followed the next day by a discussion on the items of an extended agenda. General exchange of ideas and a debate more to the points of communication and cooperation, financing and funding, contacts in Eastern Europe and in countries outside Europe etc. were taking place under the chiarmanship of Michael Haerdter and Bernard Loughlin.

Throughout, the utility and need of continuous exchange of ideas and of cooperation between the centers has been stressed during the meeting. Thus, the Network of Residential Arts Centers has unanimously been constituted by the representatives of the centers present.

Despite the attempt to attract as many representatives of residential arts centers from Eastern Europe as possible, only a few were present in Berlin. Technical, psychological and language barriers may be the cause. Here, additional efforts have to be made.

Jean Digne and Emmanuelle de Montgazon offered a questionnaire to be completed by all residential arts centers and sent to the AFAA. This material will be published by the AFAA as a documentation of European and extra-European arts residencies later this year, following an earlier model, yet in an improved and enlarged form.

Janwillem Schrofer (Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten) has elaborated a short “system” reflecting the variety of types of residencies present in Berlin, sent to each member of the Network. This may serve in defining one’s center and also for discussing future applications.

The Networks hall function as informally as possible. Nonetheless, future meeting and desicions about practical ways of the Network’s communication and cooperation have to be prepared. To this end, a steering group has been instituted during the meeting which will meet in June in Paris, on invitation of the AFAA:

  • Christian Bernard, Jean-Philippe Vienne, Villa Arson de Nice, France
  • Michael Haerdter, Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Berlin, Germany
  • Henry F. Levy, Binz 39, Zürich, Suisse
  • Bernard Loughlin, The Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Annaghmakerrigh, Ireland
  • Grazia Quaroni, Fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain, France
  • William Smart, Virginia Centre for the Creative Arts, USA for AFAA: Emanuelle de Montgazon

List of Participants

Sabine Schebrak, Nali Kukelka, WUK (Austria)

Anders Kreuger, Anna Lybeck, Nordiskt Konstcentrum (Finland)

Emmanuelle de Montgazon, Association Française D’Action Artistique (France)

Michael Pretina, The Camargo Foundation (France)

Daniel Girard, Centre National D’Écriture Du Spectacles (France)

Claude Véron, Pascale Fougère, Pépinières Européennes Pour Jeunes Artistes (France)

Jean-Philippe Vienne, Dennis Vallet, Villa Arson (France)

Noëlle Tissier, Villa Saint Clair (France)

Raj Isar, Giusi Daniele, UNESCO

Jean-Baptiste Joly, Werner Irro, Marianne Roth, Akademie Schloss Solitude (Germany)

Anke Bräuler, Martin Kausche, Eckard Wesche, Atelierhaus Worpswede (Germany)

Heinz Nastansky, Friedrich Meschede, Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (Germany)

Michael Haerdter, Christoph Tannert, Christina Sickert, Künstlerhaus Bethanien (Germany)

Udo Rathke, Schloss Plüschow (Germany)

Tony Sheehan, Jacqueline Malcolm, The Fire Station Artists’ Studios (Ireland)

Bernard Louhglin, Mary Rogan-Loughlin, Regina Doyle, Marion Gentilhomme, The Tyrone Guthrie Centre at Annaghmakerrig (Ireland)

Laurens Schumacher, Jan Van Eyck Akademie (The Netherlands)

Janwillem Schrofer, Els van Odijk, Rijksakademie van Beeldende Kunsten (The Netherlands)

Manuel Castro Caldas, Arco (Portugal)

Lluis Llobet, Cesca Jaulavert, Centre D’Art I Natura De Farrera De Pallars (Spain)

Josep Plandiura, Josep Poch, La Rectoria Centre D’Art Contemporani (Spain)

Valentí Figueras, Carles Marco, M.A.M.A. (Multimedia Agency Mental Art) (Spain)

Henry F. Levy, Hanneke Frühauf, Stiftung Binz 39 (Switzerland)

William Payne, Atholl Hill, The Patrick Allan-Fraser of Hospitalfield Trust (United Kigdom)

Bill Smart, Craig Pleasants, Virginia Center For The Creative Arts (USA)