Winners of KARA 2015 have been announced

4 artists announced as the winners of the first edition of Kooshk Artist Residency Award (KARA 2015)

Kooshk Residency announced the names of 4 artists selected for the first edition of Kooshk Artist Residency Award (KARA 2015).

KARA has been implemented to support artists, creativity and the development of new ideas in the unique space of Tehran. This Residency program is a chance for attendants to do research and experiment, develop professionally maintain direct dialogues and the exchange of ideas in order to grow and nurture their creativity, and try new methods of working and thinking. 

Following the open and free online application procedure, the 5 respected international members of the jury, consisting of Alessio Antoniolli – Director of Gasworks, Tooraj Khamenehzadeh – Artist, Curator and Program Manager of Kooshk Residency and Co-Founder and a Member of the Board of Directors of Rybon Art Center, Caoimhín Mac Giolla Léith – Critic, Curator and Senior Lecturer in Irish language and literature at University College Dublin, Bisi Silva – Curator and the Founder/ Director of Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA, Lagos) and Pooja Sood – Curator, Director of KHOJ International Artists’ Association and Founding Director of ARThinkSouthAsia, selected 4 artists from more than 247 applications coming from 70 different countries.

The list of the KARA winners is as below:

Kevin Gaffney from Ireland – Cinema

Sanda Stanionyte from Lithuania – Performance

Abel Korinsky from Germany – Music

Ayesha Zulfiqar from Pakistan – Visual Art

Winners of KARA 2015 have been announced


Posted by:
Kooshk Residency